Who We Are

Leadership and Support for STEM Education

​California calls on its State Universities to train public school teachers at all grade levels. STEM disciplines offer unique teaching challenges—and unparalleled opportunities—for a diverse population. STEM jobs are the fastest-growing economic sector in the Bay Area, and employers are eager to build a diverse local workforce. Cal State East Bay, serving the most diverse population in the state, established the Institute in 2011 to create a powerful regional center for STEM education—serving the hiring needs of employers as it provides education and opportunity to students throughout the region.​ The Institute accomplishes its mission with a Collective Impact approach, bringing together cross-disciplinary resources both on campus and throughout the community, united by the shared goal of STEM education equity for all, from cradle to career.​

Our Team

Trina Ostrander
Executive Director

Bruce Simon
Associate Director

Janiene M. Langford
Program Manager

Prior to joining the Institute for STEM Education in August, 2016, Trina managed West Coast community relations and corporate citizenship for Bayer Corporation, one of the largest biotech employers in the Bay Area. She was with the Berkeley Public Education Foundation (now the Berkeley Public Schools Fund) for 14 years, serving as Executive Director from 2002-2007. Her career includes extensive experience in public relations, campaign management, and non-profit administration.
Bruce has worked in many educational settings in the Bay Area over the past 25 years including as a teacher in public and private school, as a curriculum coordinator, as a professional development provider, and as the Education Director at the Bay Area Discovery Museum.  He has worked with students and teachers from preschool through college with a focus on mathematics, science and equity.
Janiene has a background in higher education, nonprofit management, and program development and has worked with students ranging from middle school age to college students. Janiene has more than 15 years experience in higher education and is an active member in the Hayward community and beyond. She bridges education, business, and local government to provide career exploration and STE(A)M literacy for students of all ages to increase equity in local industries.

Cody Konno
Communications Coordinator

Doug Rosales
Finance Administrator

Aira Hipolito
Administrative Assistant

Prior to joining the Institute for STEM Education, Cody supported the Hayward Eden Youth & Family Center in providing multiple safe, educational, and professional workspaces for underserved communities. His work with the Institute centers on increasing access to the numerous resources in and around STEM education in the Bay Area through professional development, community outreach events, and academic workshops.
As a graduate of Cal State East Bay, Doug has first hand experience working with the university's diverse student and faculty groups. Prior to joining the Institute for STEM Education, he worked at the San Leandro Public Library providing a number of services and resources to the community. His background in academic research, psychology, statistics, and business administration coupled with his passion for education contribute to the Institute's goal of advancing STEM teaching and learning for all.
Aira discovered an interest in education during her time as an Undergraduate Teaching Assistant at UC Davis. While at Davis, she further explored education by serving as a leader and mentor to the under-served youth for an after-school program at a local elementary school. After graduating, she utilized her degree in Managerial Economics to work as an Account Manager in the Semi-Conductor Industry. Her passion for education has brought her to the Institute for STEM Education at CSU East Bay to contribute to the Institute’s mission to advance STEM teaching and learning.

Our Board of Directors

Erik Helgren

Caron Inouye

General Education

Michele Korb

Department of Teacher Education

Kathryn Hayes

Department of
Educational Leadership

Carolyn Nelson

College of Education
& Allied Studies

Julie McNamara

Department of Teacher Education

Monika Sommerhalter

Department of Chemistry
& Biochemistry

Julia Olkin

Department of Mathematics

Jason Singley

College of Science
Email ​​

Jeff Seitz

Office of Research & Sponsored Programs